Vindarna har verkligen vänt

Russia plans deployment of small reactors
Petr Schedrovitsky made his comments at the World Nuclear Association's Annual Symposium. He explained that a Federal Task Program would see funding made available for seventeen 1200 MWe reactors to come on line between 2013 and 2020 at a wide range of sites.

A significant part of AtomEnergoProm's plan is to deploy six of the new VK-300 boiling water reactors (BWRs).

European Commission launches nuclear research forum
The European Commission (EC) has launched a new forum for nuclear energy research "to prepare for the future and maintain European leadership in this sector."

UN report highlights nuclear for emissions reduction

To achieve this would require a shift in investment away from fossil fuels. An additional $38 billion would be required for renewables; $22 billion for hydropower and $25 billion dollars for nuclear energy. Overall, investment in nuclear generation would need to increase from $15 billion to $40 billion, including an additional $11 billion investment in developing countries.


Brown calls for UK to be a leader on nuclear and renewables
British Prime Minister, Gordon Brown, called on the UK to be a leader on energy and the environment, "from nuclear to renewables." Brown was speaking at his first Labour Party Annual Conference as Prime Minister, in Brighton.

Shin-Kori 3 and 4 approved
South Korean ministers have approved the construction of the first two APR-1400 reactors, Shin-Kori 3 and 4. The sites are already prepared and construction should start next month

Apec supports nuclear, agrees climate targets
The Asia-Pacific Economic Cooperation (Apec) meeting in Sydney, Australia reached agreement on a statement on climate, energy security and clean development. Parties agreed to an aspirational goal of a 25% reduction of energy intensity, relative to economic development. The statement also noted the importance of nuclear energy as a zero-emission energy source.

COL application filed for new South Texas plant

NRG Energy and South Texas Project Nuclear Operating Company (STPNOC) have filed a combined Construction and Operating Licence (COL) application with the US Nuclear Regulatory Commission (NRC) to build and operate two new nuclear units at the South Texas Project nuclear power station.



Överallt så antingen planeras det eller så byggs det reaktorer. I USA har tillstånd sökts för reaktorer för första gången sen TMI olyckan, i rysslan planerar man över 20 nya reaktorer, i kina är planerna på 300GWe kärnkraft före 2050, ungefär 300 stora reaktorer eller dubbelt så många små med andra ord. I sydafrika utvecklar man kulbäddsreaktorerna för fullt, i de gamla sovjetstaterna så ser man sig om för att ersätta gammla reaktorer med nya. Till och med australien har börjat nosa på kärnkraften och i tyskland börjar allt fler inse att de inte kan klara växthusgasmålen utan kärnkraft.

Helt fantastiskt, när jag läser om allt som är på gång så blir jag verkligen entusiastisk. En sak är säkert, det kommer finnas gott om jobb för mig efter jag tagit min doktorsexamen ifall jag vill ge mig ut i industrin. Fan va spännade det kommer vara när man börjar ta de första generation 4 reaktorerna i drift, jag vill vara på plats. Jag vill se när man börjar hälla ner den första cementen och framförallt vill jag vara på plats när man startar reaktorn för första gången. Den känslan måste vara bättre än sex, att vara delaktig i ett sådant projekt och sen se det starta.

Kommentarer

Kommentera inlägget här:

Namn:
Kom ihåg mig?

E-postadress:

URL:

Kommentar:

Trackback